Alabama does not take hit-and-run accidents lightly. Drivers found guilty of leaving the scene of an accident can face fines and jail time. Bankrate may be able to help you understand how Alabama responds to hit and run, what may happen to your insurance if you have a hit and run claim, and what to do if you are the victim of this scenario.
Hit and run in Alabama
Alabama hit and run law states that a hit and run occurs any time a driver leaves the scene of an accident without stopping to help or provide insurance information. Another person does not have to be involved. Hit and run offenses can involve a parked car or other property.
An AAA report found that 11% of all crashes nationwide were hit and run. Alabama has recorded 258 hit and run incidents that resulted in at least one death between 2006 and 2016.
Hit-and-run laws in Alabama
The Alabama legislature has described what drivers are expected to do in the event of an accident. Alabama hit and run law states that any driver involved in an accident resulting in injury, death or damage to another vehicle must stop at the scene of the accident and give their name, address , its registration number and driver’s license number to the other party (s).
Drivers convicted of a hit and run can be charged with a Type C felony, which could result in a sentence of one to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $ 15,000. If no serious bodily injury or property damage has occurred, the driver can instead be charged with a class A misdemeanor. see a fine of up to $ 6,000.
The impact of hit and run on auto insurance rates in Alabama
Hit-and-run claims typically increase insurance rates significantly. The average percentage increase in premiums for full coverage auto insurance in Alabama after a standard claim is about 53%, while the percentage increase after a hit and run is about 106%.
Depending on the severity of the hit and run, a judge may order that an SR-22 be filed with the state, proving that a driver is properly insured. The SR-22s also require insurance companies to notify the state whenever a driver’s insurance is canceled. If the driver does not replace the canceled policy with another, the state can revoke the driver’s license and registration.
Average annual premiums for full coverage:
|Before a hit and run||After a hit and run||After an ordinary accident|
|alabama average||$ 1,623||$ 3,340||$ 2,485|
|national average||$ 1,674||$ 3,367||$ 2,311|
5 things to do after hit and run in Alabama
If you’ve been the victim of a hit and run in Alabama, you might be troubled. Understanding the steps to take before such an incident happens can help you feel more in control.
- If anyone is injured, call 911: Assess the health of your passengers, yourself and anyone else involved. If anyone is injured, immediately dial 911.
- Move your car to a safe place: You don’t have to leave the area completely, but if your vehicle is blocking traffic, you should find a shoulder or parking lot nearby to get around if your car is roadworthy. This is for your protection and the protection of other drivers.
- File a police report: If you have any information, provide it to the police. The officer will explain what he needs, but you will most likely be asked for a description of the vehicle and driver, the date and time of the incident, and the exact location of the hit-and-run. The more information you can provide, the better.
- Take photos and document the damage: If you are not injured, take pictures of your car if it is safe to do so. You may need these images to file a hit-and-run claim.
- Call your insurer: If you want to file a claim under your own insurance, you will need to contact your carrier. Give your insurer everything you have, including a police report number and any photos you took at the scene of the accident.
Will the insurance cover a hit and run?
Alabama hit and run insurance is not its own policy, but there are certain types of coverage that can help cover damage.
- Collision: This coverage is designed to cover repairs to your car after a collision. However, there may be a deductible for using this coverage.
- Medical payments: If you are injured by a hit-and-run driver, medical coverage can cover the medical expenses of everyone in the car at the time of the accident, up to your policy limit per person. .
- Bodily injury of an uninsured motorist: Drivers in Alabama can use uninsured motorist coverage for medical expenses caused by hit and run crashes.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does auto insurance cost?
The average cost of auto insurance in Alabama is $ 1,623 per year for full coverage. That’s just a little less than the national average rate for full coverage, which is $ 1,674 per year. Keep in mind that what you pay may be more or less depending on your personal valuation factors.
What is the best auto insurance company?
There is no one best auto insurance company for everyone. Instead, you should choose the best auto insurance company for your own needs by evaluating what you are looking for from a provider and comparing multiple quotes.
Is there a hit and run franchise?
Since hit-and-run coverage is not a real insurance policy, there is no specific deductible for hit-and-run accidents. However, depending on the damage coverage you use, you may have to pay a deductible. Collision insurance, for example, usually has a deductible.
Bankrate uses Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all zip codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, DC Rates shown are based on a 40 year old male and female driver with a clean driving record , good credit and the following comprehensive coverage limits:
- $ 100,000 of civil liability for bodily injury per person
- $ 300,000 liability for bodily injury per accident
- Civil liability for property damage of $ 50,000 per accident
- $ 100,000 in bodily injury caused by an uninsured motorist per person
- $ 300,000 in uninsured bodily injury per accident to a motorist
- $ 500 collision deductible
- Global deductible of $ 500
To determine the minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used a minimum coverage that meets the requirements of each state. Our basic profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and cover 12,000 miles a year.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparison purposes.
Incident: The rates were calculated by evaluating our basic profile with the following incidents applied: clean criminal record (basic), responsible accident, single speeding ticket, single conviction for driving while intoxicated and forfeiture of coverage.